The Institute hosts 11th Annual Research and Innovation Symposium

posted by

Sophia Guida

The Institute hosts 11th Annual Research and Innovation Symposium

May 30, 2023

The Institute held its 11th Annual Research and Innovation Symposium on May 24, 2023 at the New York Academy of Medicine. The event allows staff, students and organizational partners to showcase their research  and quality improvement projects and share findings with colleagues and the community.  It is also an opportunity to recognize the efforts of Institute staff and partners who constantly strive to offer top-quality care to our patients and communities.

Awards were given to projects in four different categories: Research, Continuous Quality Improvement, Innovative Projects, and Resident-led. At the end of the event, the attendees voted for their favorite project to win the People’s Choice Award.

First place winners in each category were:

Research: “Preeclampsia Care Path” by Aimee Smith, DO; Asiyah Rahman, DO; Andrew Malek, MD; Smita Sinha Kumar, MD, MBBS

Continuous Quality Improvement: “The Use of Innovative Practices to Improve Diabetes-Related Neuropathy Screenings,” by Concepcion Bulo, MS, RD, CDN, CDCES; Karin Arias, RD, CDN, CDCES; Kadian Stewart, RN; Erica Miles, BSN, RN

Innovative Projects: “Establishing and Optimizing Telehealth Services at the Institute,” by Lisa Schaffer, MEd, MS, FNP; Christine Suh, MD; Eric Gayle, MD, FAAFP; Sarah Nosal, MD, FAAFP; Jessica Korins, MA; Erica Caliendo, MPA; Jacqueline M. Chiofalo, MPA; Nandini Shroff, PhD, MPH

Resident-led: “Improving No-Show Rate via Virtual Visits,” by Alexa Goldstein, MD, AAHIVS

People’s Choice Award (tied):

  • “Ready or Not: Increasing Residents’ Confidence in Utilizing Behavioral Health Skills During a Psychosocial Rotation,” by Lindsay Blevins, PhD; Warren “Jay” Pires, LCSW-R; Shannon Pringle, MD
  • “The Boogie Down Walking Club: Implementing Walking Programs as a Sustainable Form of Physical Activity,” by Immaculada Moronta, MIM; Maurelhena Walles; Diana Bernal, MPH; Charmaine Ruddock, MS; Kelly Moltzen, MPH, RD; Neil S. Calman, MD, FAAFP