Institute staff join New York State health care advocates for CHCANYS virtual advocacy week

posted by

Sophia Guida

Institute staff join New York State health care advocates for CHCANYS virtual advocacy week

March 31, 2023

From February 27—March 9, Institute staff and board members gathered online to meet with elected state representatives for the annual advocacy outreach event led by the Community Health Care Association of New York State (CHCANYS). Twenty-one Institute staff members met with sixteen elected officials in the New York State Senate and Assembly.

During the meetings, health center staff discussed the work of federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) and the issues that most affect us as we provide care in our communities. Staff members discussed state budget priorities that directly affect community health centers, and the ability of our staff to fulfill our mission of providing quality health care to all who need it. Major topics of discussion this year included the 340B pharmacy carve-out and the pressing need to increase Medicaid reimbursement rates—two issues that directly affect our patients’ ability access the medications and care they need. Advocates also highlighted the need for telehealth pay parity and requested continued support for health care workforce development programs.

The Institute for Family Health is grateful to our representatives for taking the time to hear about the work that all of our staff do to help our patients and communities stay healthy. We would like to thank the following elected officials for taking the time to meet with us: State Assembly Members Inez E. Dickens (District 70), Latoya Joyner (District 77), Grace Lee (District 65),  Brian Maher (District 101), Sarahana Shrestha (District 103), Jo Anne Simon (District 52), and Tony Simone (District 75); and New York State Senators Jabari Brisport (District 25), Cordell Cleare (District 30), Nathalia Fernandez (District 34), Michelle Hinchey (District 41), Liz Krueger (District 28), Peter Oberacker (District 51), Gustavo Rivera (District 33), Luis Sepúlveda (District 32), and José M. Serrano (District 29).