The Institute hosts 12th Annual Research and Innovation Symposium

May 30, 2024

The Institute held its 12th Annual Research and Innovation Symposium on May 22, 2024 at the New York Academy of Medicine. This event allows staff, students and organizational partners to present their research and quality improvement projects and share findings with colleagues and the community. The event also recognizes the hard work of Institute staff and partners who constantly strive to improve their services and provide better care for our communities.

Cindy-Lou Killikelly, MSN, RN, AMB-BC, the Institute’s Chief Nursing Officer, delivered the keynote address. She spoke to the value of nurse participation in research, and brought attention to the vital ways that nurses contribute to the Institute’s overall mission.

Awards were given to projects in four different categories: Research, Continuous Quality Improvement, Innovative Projects, and Resident-led. At the end of the event, the attendees voted for their favorite project to win the People’s Choice Award.

First place winners in each category were:


eNav: Iterative Development of a Digital Patient Navigation Tool for Colorectal Cancer Screening

Authors: Luz E. Soto-Cossio, MD, Matthew W. Beyrouty, MPA, Neil S. Calman, MD, FAAFP, Michaela Frazier, PhD, LMSW, Steven Itzkowitz, MD, Lina Jandorf, MA, Francesca Minardi, MA, MPH, Jay Musella, LMSW, Jamilia R. Sly, PhD, Leah C. Savage, Cristina Villagra, MPH, Julie Schoonover, MD, and Sarah J. Miller, PsyD.

Continuous Quality Improvement: 

Improving the Early Diagnosis and Treatment of Renal Disease in Diabetes Patients with Persistent Microalbuminuria

Authors: Stephanie Graziano, RD, CSOWM, CDN, CDCES, Juliana Martinez, MPH, RDN, CDN, CDCES, Christina Carranceja, MPH, Regina Ginzburg, PharmD, CDCES, BC-ADM, and Allison Su

Innovative Projects: 

CV Builder and Advising Map – Tools for an Ever-Changing Residency Milieu

Author: Jincy Cherian, DO


Establishing Clinical Best Practices for Care of Newly Arrived Immigrant and Asylum-Seeking Patients

Authors: Swetha Madipuddi, MD, MPH, Liza Pine, MD, and Radeeb Akhtar, MD, MPH, AAHIVS

People’s Choice Award:

Improving Monofilament Foot Exams

Authors: Wendy Caesar, BSN, RN, Cindy-Lou Killikelly, MSN, RN, AMB-BC, and Alba Bacilio

Recent Topics